Profile of Commissioner

Profile of Commissioner

Last updated: 22/11/2022​

Commissioner & Acting Executive Director: 

Ms Renee Laiviera, MATC Teachers’ Training College, Dip. Ed.(Melit), Dip. Pol.Stud.(Melit), M.A. Malt. Stud. (Melit).

Ms Renee Laiviera is currently the Commissioner of the National Commission for the Promotion of Equality (NCPE) and NCPE's Acting Executive Director. Ms Laiviera has held management positions in the Malta Public Service since 1998 when she was appointed Director (Women’s Rights). She also held positions on a number of government commissions and committees.  She has been active in NGOs for many years and up till May 2013 held the position of Executive Member of the European Women’s Lobby and that of the Chairperson of the Malta Confederation of Women’s Organisations. 

Ms Laiviera is currently an independent member of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance (ECRI), a monitoring body of the Council of Europe and member of the Advisory Committee on equal opportunities for women and men, which assists the European Commission in formulating and implem​enting legislative proposals and policy initiatives on matters related to gender equality and equal opportunities. Ms Laiviera is also member of the Experts’ Forum of the European Institute for Gender Equality (EIGE).  At a national level, Ms Laiviera is member of the Commission on Gender-Based Violence and Domestic Violence which is the co-ordinating body that promotes the right of all persons to live free from violence.

In March 2007, on the occasion of International Women’s Day, The Embassy of the United States of America in Malta honoured her for exceptional ‘courage and leadership in advocating for women’s rights and advancement in Malta. The University of Malta has conferred the Degree of Master of Letters (Honoris Causa) on Ms Renee Laiviera on 1st November 2019. On 5th ​August 2021, Ms Laiviera was honoured with the highest International WEF Award 2021 - Women of the Decade in Gender Equality by the Malta-India Business Council of the Women's Indian Chamber of Commerce & Industry (WICCI). 

Commission Members:        

                                                   Jacob Callus
                                                   Joanne Cassar
                                                   Dr Paula Cauchi
                                                   Isaak Koroma
                                                   Samantha Pace Gasan
                                                   Dr Rachael Scicluna
                                                   Wilbert Tabone



Contact Name 
National Commission for the Promotion of Equality (NCPE)
Gattard House,
National Road,
Blata l-Bajda HMR 9010
(+356) 2276 8200 ​